Alaska Writers Guild  - Supporting Alaska's Writers
Log in
  • Home
  • Lin Halterman Grant

The Lin Halterman Memorial GRANT

Stay tuned for the 2024 application period!

The Lin Halterman Memorial Grant is awarded in memory of Linda L. Halterman, a charter member and the second secretary of the Alaska Writers Guild. An indefatigable worker, she plowed into projects with a focus that was never diverted. Her work continued until one summer day in 2009, when she was diagnosed with cancer and given six months to live. She finished her family legacy, Journey of a Lifetime, and fought the issue of cancer with as much determination as she mustered in her other pursuits. In her memory, Alaska Writers Guild raises funds through an annual silent auction to provide grants to assist authors in pursuing their writing goals.

The 2024 Lin Halterman Grant will provide two monetary awards of $500 each.

Criteria for Grant Applicants:

  • Applicant must be a current member of Alaska Writers Guild at time of application. Click here to become a member, check your status, or renew your membership. 
  • Applicant must use funds toward writerly pursuits, such as paying for an editor, attending a conference, travel for research, or enrolling in advanced writing courses.
  • Applicant may (but is not required to) be a student
  • Applicant may not be a current member of the Alaska Writers Guild Board of Directors, nor a current judge or member of the Lin Halterman Grant Advisory Board
  • Grant recipients agree to either attend a monthly program to make a brief presentation about how their funds were used, or provide a detailed written account for the website or other AWG marketing materials 
  • All Lin Halterman Memorial Grant Awardees must wait a minimum of two years before applying for another grant. For example, if you were awarded a Lin Halterman Grant in 2022, you cannot apply again until 2024.
  • Application must be received no later than 11:59 p.m. (Alaska Daylight Time) on Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Click HERE to download the 2023 application

Click HERE to email your completed application


Alaska Writers Guild

PO Box 670014

Chugiak, AK 99567

    © Alaska Writers Guild   Members Only

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software