Alaska Writers Guild  - Supporting Alaska's Writers

The Lin Halterman Memorial GRANT

The new Lin Halterman Memorial Grant is awarded in memory of Linda L. Halterman, a charter member and the second secretary of the Alaska Writers Guild. An indefatigable worker, she plowed into projects with a focus that was never diverted. Her work continued until one summer day in 2009, when she was diagnosed with cancer and given six months to live. She finished her family legacy, Journey of a Lifetime, and fought the issue of cancer with as much determination as she mustered in her other pursuits. In her memory, the Alaska Writers Guild raises funds through an annual silent auction to provide a grants to assist authors in pursuing their writing goals.

As the inaugural year for the Lin Halterman Grant, the Alaska Writers Guild is offering three monetary awards:

- One (1) $1,000 Grant

- Two (2) $500 Grants

Criteria for Grant Applicants:

  • Applicant must be a current member of Alaska Writers Guild at time of application
  • Applicant must use funds toward writerly pursuits, such as paying for an editor, attending a conference, travel for research, or enrolling in advanced writing courses.
  • Applicant may (but is not required to) be a student
  • Applicant may be a member of the Alaska Writers Guild Board of Directors, but cannot be a current member of the Lin Halterman Grant Advisory Board
  • Grant recipients agree to either attend a monthly program to make a brief presentation about how their funds were used, or provide a detailed written account for the website or other AWG marketing materialsAll
  • All Lin Halterman Memorial Grant Awardees must wait a minimum of two years before applying for another grant. For example, if you are awarded a Lin Halterman Grant in 2016, you cannot apply again until 2018.
  • Application must be received no later than midnight Alaska Standard Time on Friday, September 2, 2016
  • Email your completed application to:

2016 Lin Halterman Grant Committee

Marc Cameron

 Gretchen Wehmhoff

 David Onofrychuk

Click here to download the application


Alaska Writer's Guild

PO Box 670014

Chugiak, AK 99567

© Alaska Writers Guild Members Only

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software